Without You – Poem that I wrote in 2009

Without you

It’s hard to see my life without you,
even spread as we are across the country.
While wishing I were there with you,
my body aches to be in your embrace.

Even spread as we are across the country,
I remember the days we spent in the others company.
My body aches to be in your embrace,
as the sunset bursts from behind the mountains.

I remember the days we spent in the others company,
up on the hull where no one could see.
As the sunset burst from behind the mountains,
I whispered “I love you” into the wind.

Up on the hill where no one could see
I lay in your welcoming lap, staring to the sky,
I whispered “I love you” into the wind.
You dried my forming tears.

I lay in your welcoming lap, staring to the sky.
I told you I never wanted to leave,
you dried my forming tears.
I pressed my face into your shirt.

I told you I never wanted to leave,
standing in the airport waiting to board.
I pressed my face into your shirt
not wanting to ever let go.

Standing in the airport waiting to board,
I hug you just once more
Not wanting to ever let go.
I am forced to say farewell.

I hug you, just once more.
You pull away from me.
I am forced to say farewell.
I leave a place I call my home.

You pull away from me,
your own company is all that you keep now.
I leave a place I call my home,
head away to college.

Your own company is all that you keep now.
I must learn to cope, as
I head away to college,
and you say goodbye.

I must learn to cope
while wishing I were there with you,
and you say goodbye.
It’d hard to see my life without you,

but every day I do.

2009

-The Resident Femme

Comments Off on Without You – Poem that I wrote in 2009

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.